The Beginning of My Life

I watch a lot of interviews and read a lot of articles with or written by people or writers that I look up to. First of all, I want to be Mindy Kaling when I grow up. She’s a million times smarter than you, but she’s style and class and sass. I wish that were me. Other people like Tina Fey and Amy Poehler and Melissa McCarthy are obviously comedy heroes of mine. It’s pretty amazing that I get to grow up in a world where women are starting to be accepted in comedy and can pretty much do whatever they want.

 

In general, I research these women and women like them all day every day. Tina, Mindy, and Amy all have written books, two of which I’ve read (Amy’s isn’t out yet, geez), but in interviews surrounding their books, they always talk about how there are so many memoirs and biographies about people at the end of their lives, but they loved the opportunity to be able to write what’s happening right in the middle of their lives.

 

So maybe it’s time I write about the beginning of my life. Everyone says their best years are when they’re making something of themselves–they don’t have everything yet, but everything they do have, they’ve earned. I’m not saying I’m going to write a book, but I mean, maybe it’ll end up something like that.

 

I’m thankful for blogs that not a ton of people are going to read because that means I get to test out my writing skills while knowing that no one is going to steal a good idea because my readers probably don’t care that much.

 

So here we go. Life’s ahead.

Leave a Reply

