GoFundMe

There are few things in this world I hate more than people on social media taking advantage of it. Case in point today was someone I’m friends with on Facebook who posted a link to a GoFundMe campaign. This is something I’m fairly used to because I went to Belmont and every other post is a Kickstarter or IndieGoGo for someone’s new EP. This one was different, though. This is a girl who I do not know very well, and yet, we’re still Facebook friends. I clicked on the campaign to see what’s up and I quickly found out that she was raising money to furnish her new apartment. WHAT. I have a new apartment, too, and I wasn’t asking my Facebook friends for $6,500. Yes, that’s how much she was asking for. Her campaign said that she only works a part time job so she doesn’t have enough money to furnish an apartment and she had to get a co-signer on her apartment in order to afford it. Um, hey girl, maybe you can’t afford an apartment at all or should have found a cheaper one or maybe work a bit more at your part time job.

 

I could go on forever about this, but it pissed me off and I hope she raises $0. Facebook is not a charity and sorry, honey, but you are not a charity case, you’re just like the rest of us and live on an air mattress and earn things. My god, I would be so embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

