Hydration

I did not know my own strength until today. I was sitting in a writing class and realized I needed to go to the bathroom.

“Only 30 more minutes.” I thought.

Thirty minutes pass. I head for the bathroom. There are no fewer than six people waiting to use the bathroom.

 

Hmm, maybe I shouldn’t have had that venti coffee and two full water bottles, but hydration is everything, right?

 

I get in my car and think, “Surely, I can make it the twenty minute drive to my brother’s apartment.” I quite immediately hit traffic. In a way that only someone who needs to go to the bathroom would.

Just when I think I’ve cleared the traffic, I run into more traffic.

 

This happens about four more times.

 

Forty-five minutes into this car ride, I get off at the exit for my brother’s apartment, but nope, I can’t hold it that long. I rush into a McDonald’s the way I imagine someone on a juice fast might and I finally reach the bathroom.

 

The bathroom is gross, no doubt, but at least I made it to one.

 

I am a stronger woman for this experience.

Leave a Reply

