Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

This is my eighty-third post on this blog. I’ve been posting every day now for over two months and it has been an interesting challenge for me. Some days, I sit down and spend an hour writing. Other days, as I’m laying in bed about to fall asleep, I’ll open the app on my phone and just type something really quickly. I’ve also committed my writing time to things I don’t share, so I’d like to think I have a pretty good commitment to my writing. Sure, I’d like to write even more and have even more to show for it, but I also need to give my brain a break occasionally. If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you know my thoughts often times get jumbled up and I just word vomit and it’s not the most eloquent to read. But, at least I’m doing something. At least I’m working that muscle and getting better and not wasting all 24 hours of my day.

 

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

 

I realize that these questions are intentionally open-ended, horoscope style, but my god, these seem tailor made for me and my life currently. So, wow, the three most important songs in my life. A heavy question for which I’m not sure I have an answer. Music has shaped and developed my life in a way that is so inexplicable, so I think I’ll just talk about music that has specific memories for me and why those memories are important.

 

1. The Jesus Christ Superstar soundtrack.

I grew up in a family that loved musical theatre and was also Catholic. Obviously, when Jesus Christ Superstar came around, these things were no longer mutually exclusive. This soundtrack was played over and over again in my parent’s car. Or at least that’s what I’ve been told. If we’re being 100% honest, one of my main issues in my life is that I don’t remember a lot of my childhood. I have an incredible memory for details and things, but I’ve either blocked out or deemed tons of things from my childhood as unimportant. But, this is the soundtrack that made me love musical theatre, and rock music, and being an alto. It’s the one that taught me all I needed to know about the crucifixion story and taught me so with kick-ass vocals and a role that was made for me–an alto who is unlucky in love.

 

2. “Hit Me Baby One More Time” by Britney Spears.

This was the first CD I ever bought. I think I was about eight or nine? It was the height of boy bands and teen princesses, and my first album of choice was this one. Also, the first concert I ever went to was a Britney Spears concert. I think I was ten at that point and from then on everything changed. I saw performing. I heard recognizable melodies. I don’t know, it’s fun music, how can you not love early Britney?

 

3. “19” by Adele.

I still remember where I was when I heard Adele’s voice for the first time. I was watching Saturday Night Live, so I think some of this obsession comes from hearing her first on a show that molded and shaped me in another way. But she was a girl that sang like me. And a girl that looked like me. Her songs were perfect to me. That whole album was the only thing that played in my car for probably a year. I knew every word. I knew every register change. I knew I wanted to sing every single one of those songs forever. This happened right around the time I was deciding whether or not to major in music–how convenient. I credit this album with making me a successful music major. Without it, I would be a completely different person.

 

Well, there are my answers. As I said at the beginning, my mind is often scattered. Today, especially, I’m feeling exhausted, I’m slightly dizzy, and in general I’m feeling a little discourage about life. This of course, comes after a night where I felt incredibly motivated and knew exactly what I needed to do to get where I wanted to be. I still sort of feel that way, but I also feel like I want to sleep forever, so there’s that.

Leave a Reply

