Writing 101: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

I just recently told someone this story and am now realizing this is the perfect place to share it again. When I was younger, I had two working parents. I think it was in second grade that my mom went part-time and she was home after school. My dad has always been the cook in the family, but when my mom started being home after school, I just assumed she would start to do a little more of the cooking. My mom will agree with me on this, but she’s never been too keen on cooking. She made good things, it’s not she was burning everything or that anything was inedible, but she doesn’t enjoy cooking. I think this was around then, but she had a brilliant idea to start something called the “Dinner Draft”. I think it was an effort to make the meal planning a little bit easier and also make my brother and I feel like we had a say in what we’d be eating during the week.

So, basically, we would write down ideas for dinner and then one place we wanted to go out for dinner that weekend and we would draw from a hat. (This is at least how I remember it, it could be totally, completely wrong.) I think my parents got to write down five ideas and my brother and I each got two votes for the hat. Well, this all sounds like a great idea in theory, but gave my brother and I the opportunity to suggest waffles and corn dogs for dinner at least once a week. There weren’t really requirements for the food, so we took full advantage. Also, we would always suggest going to Fun World for dinner–Fun World was an arcade pretty much with frozen pizza available for purchase. We were too smart for our own good and in generally we destroyed the Dinner Draft. Oh, well, it was fun.

Leave a Reply

