I’M BACK.

Well, it’s been a little while. That’s good. I should be out living my life. For example, like I mentioned in my last post, life has been super crazy. I had friends in town, I worked a lot, I wrote a lot, I podcasted a lot, and I was generally just busy being a human. I had plans to come back writing last week, but I was feeling the opposite of inspired. I was exhausted physically, emotionally, and, like, personally? Are those correct adverbs? Probably not.

But, I’m ready to start writing for this again. With a little more structure.
So, here’s my proposed schedule, we’ll see if it works out.

Monologue Mondays: I’ll tip my hat to a Fallon or SNL or any other Late Night host of your choosing’s monologue.

Twitter Tuesdays: I’m going to take my favorite tweet of someone else from the week and write a sketch or a short essay about it. It might be character based, it might be premise based, but I think it’s going to be cool.

Weekend Update Wednesdays: I’ll write as many Weekend Update style jokes as I can in a week. Sometimes that will be one. Sometimes it’ll be like twenty.

Thoughtful Thursdays: I recently got obsessed with Last Week Tonight with John Oliver. He found a way to tackle real important issues in an entertaining and informative way. I feel like I need an outlet to do so that isn’t Facebook. This is the day that could go terribly. Probably will, but that’s fine.

Funny Fridays: This will be a catch-all day. Anything I didn’t get to say during the week or there’s two things I had to say for one day, this is when I’ll write it.

So that’s it. Yep, you read it correctly, I’m not writing Saturday and Sunday. And I’m super happy about that. Yeah, some people can do that, and more power to them, but in order for this blog to be at all constructive for me, I need structure and direction and time to actually write things of quality that I think are up to my standards.

I’ll see you tomorrow for Weekend Update Wednesday #1 and every weekday after that until I figure out a different way to do this or life gets too crazy or any of the combination of the above.

Leave a Reply

