Monologue Mondays: Life, man.

Well, today was shitty. I had every intention of curling up with coffee tonight and writing a really good monologue for the week, but in fact, my own personal monologue became more important.

Basically, it rained here in LA and all hell broke loose. Well, less hell and more the entire ceiling of my apartment. We had leaks galore and if you walk into my room at this point in time, it is akin to walking into a rainforest biosphere. It is simply moist and therefore they need to tear all of our ceilings and walls down and make sure everything gets dried and then put them back up again. So, my roommates and I are displaced. To where, I still don’t know. What we do know is that starting tomorrow night, for “approximately two weeks”, we get to live in an extended stay type of situation while our apartment is being fixed. A huge inconvenience, but more than that it’s just incredibly stressful. Yeah, my twenty minute phone call with my parents was me sobbing and not knowing what to do. And I still don’t really know what to do or where I’ll be sleeping 24 hours from now, but there’s literally nothing I can do. I don’t want to die from mold, hence, I must leave this place for two weeks. Who knew I was so attached to this apartment already?

Look, I know two weeks is not that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things and this will be a great story in the chapter of my book that details my first year in Los Angeles, but right now it sucks. Thank the good lord I have a great friend out here who dropped everything, picked up Chinese food, ran over and helped me pack my life up. Honestly, it was the greatest most selfless thing ever and I’m eternally grateful to her.

 

So, no Monologue Monday. Or I guess you could just say this was my own personal Monologue Monday, but in any case, we’ll see how much I can write this week. Will I have internet? Will I be able to do my laundry? What happens if an opportunity pops up and I get a job opportunity? Or a job? Will the couch be a good writing couch?

Yeah, I’m aware this stuff doesn’t really matter, but also it definitely matters. Look, if you found out you’d have to leave your house tomorrow for two weeks, and not only that, but absolutely every item in your home had to be removed as well, you’d be freaking out a little bit.

 

I’ll make it through, obviously, because clearly this is not a life or death situation, but I have every right to complain about it for a little bit.

Leave a Reply

